|Home|Institution|Facilities|Departments|Admissions|Alumnae|Activities|Contact us|


Institution Head
Professor Sangeeta Tripathi Mitra, M.A. Ph.D


  Within the tenure of my work as the Principal in Bethune College, this is a realization that administering an educational institute is rather unique in comparison to any other establishment. Devotion is imperative to reach nearer to perfection of an effort, but for imparting education along with inculcation of morale amongst the students, affection appears to be more important. Policy for maintenance of discipline for the professional staff may not always be identical as that of the students. A teacher-administrator is to feel the pulse of the staff as well as the students.

The objective of the College is to ensure that the students are provided with academic training of a high quality, so that they are equipped with the skill sets required in today's professional sphere. Though the focus of the College is primarily on the development of the intellectual potential, we also stress upon the need to develop all round faculties of the students including promotion of extracurricular, cultural and sporting abilities. This College also acts as the negotiator of transmission of values and beliefs amongst the students.

After the initial footstep in the arena of higher education in 1879, Bethune College has successfully passed a period of 135 years. This College is a Government institute and is guided by the existing Government rules andregulations. In spite of adversities on several occasions the Institute maintains its firmness to guide its learners from all sections of the society. Bethune College thrives in quality, upholds clarity in vision, mission, values and goals with positive thoughts.

Basically as a teacher of Bengali, I joined the WB Education Service in 1988 and later in 2010, I was further recruited as the Professor of Bengali in WB Senior Education Service cadre. Since 31st December 2011 afternoon, I have been appointed to shoulder the responsibilities of the Principal of this glorious Bethune College.

Sangeeta Tripathi Mitra
Bethune College

    Scholarships and stipends  
     From the State Government

The holders of National Scholarship are entitled to free studentship depending on their family income in addition to the actual scholarship from the State Government.

The Directorate of Public Instruction, West Bengal, awards free studentships to needy and deserving candidates on the recommendation of the Principal.
There is a Students’ Aid Sub-committee of the Teachers’ Council, which selects the candidates on the basis of applications invited from them. The criteria for selection are the family income and the academic performance of the student. 
The State Govt awards post-Matric scholarships to SC/ST students.
There are some non-government organizations like Jindal Trust, Aamra etc, which grant scholarship to the students of this college.

From Bethune College

The College itself has a Students’ Aid Fund. Various types of financial assistance are extended to the students from this fund, mainly in the form of book grant, help in payment of fees for Part I and Part II examinations and excursion fees. Aid for medical purposes is provided in some instances.

Besides this, there are several Endowment Funds created by the well-wishers of the College. The Income generated from these Endowment Funds is utilized each year for giving stipends to the selected students. The following stipends are awarded by the College on merit cum means basis:

  • Ramjitendra Ghosh Memorial Stipend for a needy student of 1st year B.A class.
  • Bimalacharan Law Stipend.
  • D.N. Ray Memorial Stipend.
  • Eva Mitra Memorial Scholarship (inaugurated in 2004) awarded to a student of Botany Honours or a student of any of the Science departments.
  • Juthika Ghosh Memorial stipend awarded to needy students of Sanskrit Honours.

There are other scholarships provided by well-wishers on purely merit basis:

  • Papiya Dutta Roy Memorial Stipend awarded for good result in Political Science (Hons.) in B.A. part I Examination.
  • Srabanti Banerjee Memorial Scholarship awarded for good academic performance.
  • Dr. Nilmani Mukherjee Scholarship, awarded in Economics (Hons), Bethune College.
  • Sarala Ghosh Memorial Scholarship (inaugurated in 1996) awarded to two students of Bethune College for securing highest marks in Arts & Science in the Annual Examination.
  • Kamalabala Mukherjee Memorial Scholarship awarded for highest marks in B.Sc. Chemistry (Honours) from Bethune College.
  • Sumita Mitra (Basu) Memorial Stipend (inaugurated in 2006) awarded to three students on merit cum need basis, every year.
  • Nilima Misra Memorial Stipend (inaugurated in 2007) awarded to a needy and meritorious student.

Teachers’ Fund:

All the members of the Teachers’ council including the Principal contribute annually towards a fund, which is used to make grants to needy students of all the departments.



The College is affiliated to the University of Calcutta at the undergraduate degree course level.

The college is affiliated to University of Calcutta for conducting two year Post graduate courses in four subjects, namely, Botany, Zoology, Mathematics and English.

Bethune College is accredited at the "A" Level by NAAC



Bethune College is a college under the Govt. of West Bengal & the Principal is the administrative head of the college. Like all government colleges, Bethune College too, has a governing body in accordance to the government rules.

The president of our governing body is Smt. Saoli Mitra, eminent theatre personality. The body has nominees from the Government of West Bengal, Calcutta University, teaching staff, non-teaching staff and student as well.

he body meets at regular intervals and helps in college administration.

  Jyotsnamayee Dey
Jyotsnamayee Dey Endowment Fund was created in 2006 through the generous donation of Shri Amit De, the son of an alumna of the college, Late Jyotsnamayee Dey. This fund was created for two teaching fellowships in Computer Science and Mathematics Departments.

Tarak Sudha 
Family of our ex-student Late Sudhalata Sarkar has instituted “Tarak - Sudha Endowment Fund” at Bethune College from 2004 ; from which three Fellowships, two in Computer Science and one in Mathematics, are awarded to duly qualified ladies who act as full-time teachers.




Copyright : Bethune College, Kolkata | Site powered by : Braindrops