|Home|Institution|Facilities|Departments|Admissions|Alumnae|Activities|Contact us|

  • B.A. Honours
  • General Course for students with Honours in Other Arts Subjects.

Name of the Teaching staff   Designation Highest qualification Specialization
  Smt. Moumita Dutta   Assistant Professor and Head of the Department   M.A, M.Phil   Comparative Politics,
Public Administration
  Dr. Debjani Ghosal   Assistant Professor   M.A., Ph.D (J.U.)   Political Theory, Indian Political Thought, Western Political Thought, International Relations, South and South East Asian Studies, Migration, Refugee Crisis, Terrorism, Insurgency in North-East India and Indo-Bangladesh Relations.
  Dr. Shiuli Mukerjee   Assistant Professor   Ph.D.   Developmental Studies, South Asian Politics
  Smt. Shampa Dutta   Assistant Professor   M.A. (1st Class), B.Ed.   Local Govt. & Politics, Political Thought, Comparative Pols. International Relations.
  Ms. Debarati Das   Assistant Professor  


  Local government and politics, Comparative Politics, Indian government and politics, Political
All the teachers of the Department are engaged in research and academic activities. Some of them also deliver lectures as resource persons.
  1. Sm. Kumkum Chattopadhyay has completed major part of her UGC Minor Research Project on 'Rabindranath and Developmental ethos'.
  2. Sm. Kumkun Chattopadhyay has particilated in a Residential Sensitivity Awareness Motivation Workshop under the Capacity Building of Women Managers in the Higher Education Scheme of the UGC organized by the Women’s Studies Centre, Rabindra Bhawan from 16.03.2010 – 20.03.2010.
  3. She was a resource person in the UGC Seminar on Rabi Pradarshani on 05.02.11. at Mahadevananda Mahavidyalaya of Barrackpore.
  4. She also has two published papers namely: 1) RABINDRANATHER KRISHICHINTA and “2) RABINDRAJIBANI O RABIJIBANI
  5. Kumkum Chattopadhyay published a chapter”Rabindranath:Sangathan chinta-in the book “Rabindranather Samaj o Rashtrabhabna.ISBN978-93-80761-28-2.
  6. Bartaman Biswa o manabadhikar:chapter in Samasamayik Antarjatik samparkraedited by Gautam Kr. Basu.ISBN-978-81-247-0706-7.
  7. The Department of Political Science proudly celebrated its Golden Jubilee under C.U. on 26.11.2010 and organized a one day seminar on this occasion. The participants also got a chance of a grand reunion. Eminent resource persons graced the occasion with their erudition.
  8. An UGC seminar on “Religion and Popular Culture” was organized by the Department of Political Science along with the Departments of English and Philosophy, on 07-08 December, 2010. The seminar was graced by eminent scholars from national and international universities.
  9. The students and teachers of the Department Went to Bandel Church and Hanseswari Mandir under educational excursion, funded by C.P.E. on 18.01.2011.

All the teachers have publications in various books and journals to their credit

  1. Sm. Kumkum Chattopadhyay has published a paper on “Rabindranath and JagadishChandra in “Puro Pathik,” a Sharadiya Journal of the Kamarhati Municipalitym 2009.
  2. Kumkum Chattopadhyay, H.O.D. presented a paper in the international seminar organized by Women’s Studies Centre, Rabindra Bharati University on “Women And Tagore-Recreating the Space in the New Millenium on 28.01.2011.


Papiya (Dutta) Roy Memorial Lecture Srabonti Banerjee Memorial Lecture  

  • Since 2001, The Department conducts two endowment lectures each year (since 2001)
  1. Papiya (Dutta) Roy Memorial Lecture
  2. Srabonti Banerjee Memorial Lecture
  • Renowned Academicians are invited to deliver lectures to enrich both the students and the teachers. Prof. Amal Kumar Mukhopadhyay, Prof. Mohit Bhattacharya, Prof. Sobhanlal Dutta Gupta, Prof. Rakhahari Chatterjee, Sri Debesh Das are a few of them.
  • 11th Papiya DuttaRoy Memorial Lecture was delivered by Dr. Minakshi Singha on topic:Bartamane Rabindranather Prasangikata.
  • 11th Srabonti Banerjee memorial Lecture was delivered by Dr. Sima Kundu on topic:Swami Vivekananda-A few words on Socialism.
  • The department has organized a series of invited lectures where Dr.Shyamali Sarkar,Dr. Rajasri Basu, Dr. Peu Ghosh have delivered their lectures.
  • This year Dr. Kushanava Chaudhury, a visiting Fellow of Centre for Studies in Social Sciences and Prof. Sobhablal Dutta Gupta have deliverer the Papiya (Dutta) Roy Memorial Lecture and Srabanti Banerjee Memorial Lecture respectively.
  • Dr. Kabita Chanda, Department of Bengali, Bethune College and Sm.Kumkum Chattopadhyay of Department of Political Science, Bethune College have delivered the Papiya (Dutta) Roy Memorial Lecture and Srabanti Banerjee Memorial Lecture respectively in 2010
  • The Department has a good seminar library and Book Bank to help the students all through the year.
  • Students are encouraged to present seminar papers on topics related to current affairs and of national and international relevance.
  • News reading sessions are held at regular intervals to help the students become conversant with local, national and international news.
  • Wall magazines on various political matters are prepared by the students if the department at regular intervals.

Sm. Kumkum Chattopadhyay publishes her stories, poems and novels in various magazines.
Her story “Chayatir” has won The Telegraph Salt Lake Super Souvenir 2011 award as the Best Fiction.
Her story “Bonopulak” has won The Telegraph Salt Lake Super Souvenir 2012 award as Fiction.




  • The students participate in Interdisciplinary Certificate Course on Ethics and Value Education organized jointly by the Department of Political Science and Philosophy in collaboration with the Women’s Studies Centre, Bethune College.
  • All the students take Computer course (Basic) and some take advance Computer course at the Webel Computer Training Centre located in the College.
  • Students participate in Intra college competitions and Annual Festival of the College.
  • Students of the Department of Political Science have presented papers on “women and Empowerment” in a seminar entitled “Journey of Women Beyond Equality and Empowerment” organized by Women Studies Centre, Bethune College on 23.03.11.
  • 5 students among 15 have secured First class in B.A.Part III (Hons.).
  • Sraboni Ghosh has been awarded a prize for an essay competition titled”Satabarsher Pritilata”organized by Paschimbanga Ganatantrik Mahila Samiti-Uttar Purba Zonal Committee.
Name of student Activity  
Ranita Das Won the prestigious Nalini Das Memorial silver medal for being the Best All Rounder, Bethune College 2012  



Copyright : Bethune College, Kolkata | Site powered by : Braindrops