|Home|Institution|Facilities|Departments|Admissions|Alumnae|Activities|Contact us|

  • Three year Honours Degree Course (C.U. Syllabus).
  • Two Year General Degree Course to cater to Honours Students (C.U. Syllabus) of :
    1. Chemistry
    2. Mathematics
    3. Computer Science
    4. Statistics

Name of the Teaching staff   Designation Highest qualification Specialization  
  Dr. Ajita Sen Gupta   Associate Professor and
 (H.O.D )
  M.Sc. Ph.D.   Solid State Physics  
  Dr. Kamal Kanti Som   Associate Professor   M.Sc. (Cal.), Ph.D. (J.U.)   Solid State Physics  
  Dr. Santa Bandopadhyay (Rajguru)   Assistant Professor   M.Sc., Ph.D.   Nuclear Physics  
  Dr. Ratna Koley (Lien)   Assistant Professor   M.Sc., Ph.D.   High Energy Physics  
  Smt. Srirupa Ray (Dasgupta) (Leave)   Assistant Professor   M.Sc.   High Energy Physics  
  Dr Golam Md Helaluddin (Lien)   Associate Professor   M.Sc., Ph.D.      
  Dr. Sourav Ganguly   Assistant Professor   Ph.D.   Nuclear Physics  
Name of the Teaching staff   Designation Highest qualification Specialization  
Dr. Ram Kumar Guchhait Part time Teacher M.Sc., Ph.D Electronics and Thermal Physics
  Dr. Swapan Kumar Das   Part time Teacher   M.Sc., Ph.D.   Statistical Mechanics &
Solid State Physics
  Guest Faculty:              
   Dr. Manisha Banerjee (retired)       M.Sc., Ph.D.      

LCD Projector
Microphone with ampliphere
Drinking water with cooling system
10 computers
1 laptop
Internet facilities
Rich seminar library in addition to college library
Science library
A special book banl donated by Alumnae

UGC sanctioned infrastructure grant (2011-2012) for upliftment of laboratory and class rooms.

    Students of the department have attended lectures by eminent international professors, Amitava RoyChowdhury and Frederick Rholf, organized at Lady Brabourne College and Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics.

Department of Physics has organized the 7th Chameli Bose Memorial lecture on 21st Dec 2013. Prof Jayshree Basak from J. C. Bose Institute Kolkata delivered her talk on Thalassemia.

The 11th Annual Reunion in the Department was celebrated on the same day

A eminent Professor like Prof. Tarashankar Nag (retired) gave a series of lectures (as a part of workshop) on special theory of relativity for final years students.

  • Members of Faculty attended lectures on astronomy delivered by Jayanta Narlikar at ISI (10 Feb 2012)
  • Invited lectures by Scientists from India & Abroad.
  • Visit to Research Laboratories.
  • Seminars given by students.
  • Participation of Students in Seminars, Workshops, Academic Contests in other Institutions.
  • Department acts as a centre for N.G.P.E. conducted by the Indian Association of Physics Teachers.
  • The Chhanda Mitra (mother of one of our alumnae) Memorial Prize and Stipend were introduced in 2011 by her husband Sr- Swapan Kr. Mitra. The prize is to be awarded to the topper in B.Sc, Physics Final examination and the stipend is to be given on merit-cum-need-basis to final year student.
  • Every year a scholarship amounting to Rs. 3000/- approx. is donated by the alumni fund and is given to a needy student/s of final year.


Jan of 2011. All the departmental students were taken on an "one-day excursion" to Taki on the bank of Ichamati River. They had a lot of fun.

    Central Park Kolkata :
Feb 2014 : The Final year students were taken for a one day excursion in central park salt lake. They enjoyed a lot.
    Every year a memorial lecture after the name Late Prof. Chameli Basu (a pioneer in establishing the Physics Department) is held. Eminent speakers are invited to enlighten a large number of past and present students.

Achievements of our present students:

25 students appeared for graduation examination 2013, 17 got 1st class. Rank 3rd, 4th and 12th under Calcutta University were achieved.

Out of 25 students appeared for graduation examination 2014, 13 got 1st class
• Ahana Chakraborty ranked 1st in Calcutta University, Awarded PC Chandra Medal for the year 2012.
• Namrata Dhar secured 10th position in Calcutta University
• Fifteen of our students of 2010-2013 batch have qualified for master’s level through National Level entrance test (NET and GATE).

Achievements of our Alumnae:

The departmental union is regularly organized by the alumni of the department with spirit and enthusiasm since 2003

  • Monalisa Singh Roy-Topped in Debate at the Science Day Celebration at VECC in March, 2010 and also topped at INFOCOM innovation Hub organized by The Telegraph Knowhow innovation Hub in January, 2010. She also participated in the Science and Engineering Fair, 2010, organised by Birla Industrial and Technological Meuseum, BITM in January, 2010.
  • RavneetKaur Gill Obtained Merit Certificate for the NGPE 2010, organised by IAPT.
  • Rupali Rakshit (2010 batch): Obtained Merit Certificate for the NGPE 2010, organised by IAPT and she was awarded a special scholarship for being among the first one percent candidates from West Bengal.
  • Soma Chakraborty was selected as a Ph.D. fellow by Academy of Sciences of Czech Republic, Prague.
  • Ajanta Bahr (2008 batch) stood 1st in M.Sc. (IIT, Delhi) and 121th in NET, 2010.
  • Indrani Chakraborty (2009 batch) stood joint 3rd in B.Sc. (Physics Honours), Examination, Calcutta University, 2009.
  • Aditi Mukhopadhyay (2007 batch) joined Baylor University, Texas for Doctoral Research Programme.
  • Eeshita Manna (2007 batch) joined Iowa State University for Doctoral Research Programme.
  • Sudeshna Ganguly (2007 batch) qualified GRE with Honours and joined Wayne State University, Michigan.
  • Chandrima Banerjee, Dipanwita Ghanti, Sukanya Bhattacharya, Sukanya Ghosh and Susmita Roy (all 2010 batch) qualified for M.Sc. in 2010 at various ITT through JAM and are currently pursuing their academic careers with honour.
  • Dipti Chakraborty, Suparna Hazra and Priyadarshini Kapri (all 2011 batch) have qualified JAM with honour.
  • Sudeshna Ganguly and Eshitsa Manna (2007 batch), Ipsita Chakraborty and Soma Mitra (2005 batch) have qualified NET.


Copyright : Bethune College, Kolkata | Site powered by : Braindrops