Govt. of West Bengal
Bethune College
Bethune College

Department of History


  • Bethune College : History Department
  • Bethune College : History Department
  • Bethune College : History Department

Course Details

Semester wise Three year B.A. Honours Course (under CBCS), University of Calcutta
Three Year B.A. Honours Course (1+1+1), University of Calcutta

CBCS Syllabus: History.pdf 
Revised History Honours Syllabus 2017: :

History Honours Syllabus (Revised in 2010):

About the Department

Journey of the department of History dates back to the beginning of the college in 1879.Being one of the compulsory subjects in B. A. Examination, History was among the oldest departments of the college. For a long time, there used to be only one paper of Compulsory History in the B.A Examination with some other compulsory subjects. So, teachers had to teach History along with some other subjects. Thus the early records reveal the name of Smt. Surabala Ghosh, an alumnus of this College, who joined the college as a lecturer in History and Bengali from 1903-1912. Later she acted as the Principal of the College for sometime .The History Honours and Pass courses started in the year of 1950. The first Honours student of this Department graduated in 1952 and secured a fairly high place in Second Class. The Three years Degree courses was introduced in 1982. Some of the pioneering teachers of this Department were Marie Bonnerji, Sushovan Sarkar (rendered Honarary Service from1933-34), Karunakana Gupta(1938-1952) , DR. Roma Neogy, Dr .Bharati Ray, Bandana Ghosh, Dr.Hena Mukherjee.

Currently the department offers History Honours, Pass courses and under new CBCS curriculum of 2018, History Core Courses and Generic Electives are offered. The Department has a staff strength of five faculties. The department is regularly engaged in serious academic exercises like invited lectures, seminars, students' seminar, showing documentaries and films, taking students to lectures by eminent historians, educational trips etc. Among the five faculty members, four members have been awarded PhD Degrees, and one faculty member is pursuing her Doctoral Research. Faculty members regularly attend seminars, present research papers in national and international seminars and publish their papers in peer reviewed books and journals. Students of the department have won several prestigious awards in students' seminar held in other colleges. Overall, a healthy academic environment and a cordial teacher student relation is maintained in the department.


  • Departmental Library - 149 books
  • Book Bank - 60 books
  • Archive: Set up in 2006, it is a rich repository of old documents and records including invaluable photographs pertaining to the early history of the first women's college in the country. The Archive has proved to be of immense value in unearthing crucial aspects of Women's history in colonial Bengal


The Departmental teachers are engaged in regular research on a host of subjects in various fields of history like History of Medicine, Private Health in Independent India, History of Weapons and Firearms in the Revolutionary Phase in colonial India, Food History of the Colonial Bengal and Settlements and Urbanization in Early India.

Extension Activities

Invited Lectures and Departmental Seminars organized by the Department with Details

Funding agency Seminar/Conference/Workshop/Invited
Lecture with Date
Biplabtirtha Chattogram
Smriti Sangstha
and Bethune College
Invited Lecture on "Celluloid O Swadhinata"
19th February 2019
Prof Prosenjit Ghosh,

Associate Professor,
Satyajit Ray Film &
Television Institute, Kolkata

Biplabtirtha Chattogram
Smriti Sangstha
and Bethune College
Invited Lecture on "Women Revolutionaries of Bengal
from Swadeshi Era to Independence"
19th January 2018
Professor Chittabrata Palit, eminent Historian
and Retired Professor of the Department of History,
Jadavpur University
Bethune College Departmental Seminar on
1. "Politics, Warfare and State Formation in Early Medieval South India"

2. Urbanization in Early Historic India (600-300BCE).

14th March, 2017
1. Prof Shouvik Mukhopadhyay, Department of History, University of Calcutta

2. Prof. Rajat Sanyal,Department of Archaeology, University of Calcutta

Departmental Prizes

  • Aditi Nag Choudhury Memorial Prize: For highest proficiency in B.A Part I Examination.
  • Nibedita Ghosh Memorial Prize: Most Promising student in the Final Year.
  • Special Staff Prizes: For securing 1st class in B.A Final Examination.

Student's Section

Result's Under Graduate

Year Appeared First Class Rank












1st and 7th





Academic Achievement

  • Haimanti Mukhoti of 3rd year held the First Position in Historia, a Students' Seminar organized by the Department of History, Loreto College, in Collaboration with the History Society, Loreto College, Kolkata, on 16th February, 2019. Titiksha Chakraborty also presented a paper in the same.
  • Haimanti Mukhoti's paper secured the First Position in a Students' Seminar, Clio venture 2018, organized by Narendrapur Ramkrishna Mission.
  • Titiksha Chakraborty of 3rd year held Sixth Position in All- India Essay Writing Competition, 2018 organized by Shri Ram Chandra Mission, United Nations Information Trust and Heartfelt Education Trust.
  • Haimanti Mukhoti and Titiksha Chakraborty jointly presented a paper in a Students' Seminar at Belur Ramkrishna Mission Vidyamandir, organized by the Department of English, powered by Wild Life Trust of India

Co- Curricular and Extra- Curricular Activities:

  • Tanya Kundu participated in Inter College Badminton Championship Tournament and was selected as the Most promising Player of Bengal in Inter College State Level Competition in 2016.


  • Students of UG II and UG I under supervision of departmental teachers Anasua Datta and Chirantani Das went for an educational trip to the historical spots of Rajgir, Nalanda, Bodhgaya on 29th March to 2nd April 2018.
  • Departmental excursion to Murshidabad was organised with UG I students under supervision of two departmental teachers Anasua Datta and Chirantani Das on13th to 15th April 2017.

Achievements of past Students

Sl. No Name Year Academic Achievement Present Position
1 Shreya Roy 2016 Qualified NET and SET Teaching as a Guest Lecturer in Vivekananda College
(Thakurpukur) since 1st February, 2019
2 Trisha Haldar 2016 Qualified NET --
3 Sreenika Sen 2018 ----- Process Executive at Wipro Technologies Private Limited

Links :