|Home|Institution|Facilities|Departments|Admissions|Alumnae|Activities|Contact us|

    The Alumni Association of Bethune College is called Sammilani, where ex-students, present students and ex-teachers can become members. It started as an ‘Old Students Guild’ in 1921 with encouragement from the then Principal of the College, Miss G.M. Wright.

Sammilani is the oldest Alumni Association (Established on 3rd September 1921) among the Government colleges in West Bengal. This association was set up mainly to serve the noble cause of bringing the ex-students into the premises of the College and to utilise their expertise knowledge and achievement in various fields of life for the welfare of the College. Sammilani is an autonomous body and has always taken a keen interest in the activities of the College and extends its best efforts for the betterment of the Institution and its learners. The members, besides coming up with welfare ideas and upliftment notions, also come forward with financial assistance whenever needed and participate in the cultural activities of the College.



   Website of Bethune College Sammilani  www.bethunex.org.in

Achievements and Activities of the Alumni Association
In 1988 the Sammilani introduced several memorial prizes, e.g. Rupa Chakraborty Memorial Prize, Ishita Dutta Memorial Prize and Dipti Tripathi Memorial Prize. Since then, every year Sammilani is felicitates the distinguished alumni. Some of the recipients of these prizes are Dr. Pushpa Misra, former Principal, Bethune College, Dr. Jyoti Das, Dr. Manimala Das, former Principal, Bethune College, Smt Bratati Bandyopadhyay renowned elocutionist and others.

One great achievement of the Alumni Association that merits special attention is that, Dr. Sunanda Ghosh, an ex-student of Bethune College and also the former Head of the Department of Political Science of this College brought into light in 2012 that Smt. Chandramukhi Basu was the first female candidate who passed the F.A. Examination from Calcutta University in 1877.

Since 2010, on the day of Annual Reunion, the ex-students who have completed 50 years of their graduation and also the members of the Sammilani are felicitated and they are given, by way of gifts, the products of Self-help groups (SHGOS). This attempt on the part of Sammilani, not only encourages the entrepreneurship of SHGOS, but also helps the weaker sections of women of our society in a humble way.

There are a number of prizes donated by the Alumni Association to students of the College.

  1. Mrinalini Emmerson Memorial Prize
  2. Chameli Basu Memorial prize
  3. Aruna Mukhopadhyay memorial prize - given to an alumna for Social service

The Alumni has instituted Mrinalini Emmerson Memorial Lecture since 2004. The first speaker on 27th February 2004 was Prof. Akhtar Imam, an eminent alumna of this College. The second speaker on 6th April 2005 was the famous Bengali litterateur Sirshendu Mukhopadhyay.
In 2005, while the Star Theatre, Kolkata was being renovated, the Association appealed to the Mayor of Kolkata for renaming the road adjacent to the Star Theatre after Binodini Debi, the famous actress of yester years, who was blessed by Ramakrishna Paramhansa. The Mayor heeded the appeal and the road has been named Binodini Sarani.

Sammilani organizes a Foundation Day programme on 3rd September, a Bijoya Sammelan after the Pujas, a picnic in winter and a Reunion in February every year.

The Association organizes an annual “Anandamela” in the Centenary Hall, which is a handicraft and food fair, for the present and past staff and students of the College. A small cultural show is held simultaneously.

The Association regularly conducts drama /music workshops as well as health awareness camps for the students.


Following is a brief list of the achievements of the alumni of this College:

  • Pritilata Wadder,the martyr of Chitagong Armoury fame was awarded the B.A Degree by Calcutta University posthumously in 2012.

  • Shukla Roy, Headmistress of Bethune School has been honoured by the President of India and received the National Teacher’s Award in 2012.

  • Dr. Minakshi Sinha won “ABP Sananda Nihar Sucharu Samman” for Performing Arts in 2012 and has been awarded the Banga Gaurav Ananya Samman for Rabindra Charcha. She was also an invited guest speaker of Dhaka Rabindra Academy (Bangladesh).

  • Smt Kajal Sen is the Vice-President of Federation of University Women's Association of India and visited St Petersburg, USSR as a guest speaker. She also participated in Bangladesh Gender Workshop Programme.

The College maintains two Endowment Funds created by the financial donation from the families of two alumnae. These are:

  • Jyotsnamoyee Dey Endowment Fund supports one full time Professor, three part time Professors and two Fellows in Mathematics and one Fellow in Computer Science for full time teaching.

  • Tarak Sudha Endowment Fund supports three Fellows in Computer Science department for full time teaching.


Kadambini Bose Chandramukhi Bose Asima Chattopadhyay



Akhtar Imam Sobha Sen

Pritilata Wadder Sarala Devi Chaudhurani Kalapana Dutta Joshi


Freedom Fighters and Social Workers Distinguished Writers / Poet

Pritilata Wadder
Kamala Dasgupta
Bina Das
Ila Mitra
Kalpana Dutta Joshi
Kalpana Mukherjee
Abha Maity
Ashoka Gupta
Kajal Sen
Aparna Roy
  Kamini Roy
Kanchan Kuntala Mukhopadhyay
Sudakshina Basu
Dipty Tripathi
Sita Debi
Shanta Debi
Sarala Debi Chaudhurani
Kumkum Chattopadhyay
Pranati Mukhopadhyay
Distinguished Academicians Eminent Scientists

Dr. Bijoy Lakshmi Mukherjee
Dr. Sampa Guha
Dr. Sumitra Chaudhuri
Dr. Pushpa Misra
Dr. Shibani Dutta
Dr. Manimala Das
Dr. Sarmila Banerjee
Dr. Ranjana Mukherjee
Dr. Gopa Guha Majumdar
Dr. Rita Kundu
Dr. Dipanwita Roy Chaudhuri
Dr. Madhuchchanda Mitra
Dr. Sreelata Chatterjee
Smt. Swati Biswas
Smt. Jayita Dutta
Prof. Subha Rakshit
Dr. Krishna Chakraborty
Dr. Rita Chattopadhyay
Dr. Manjusha Majumdar
Dr. Mridula Kanoria
Dr. Tripti Chakraborty

Prof. Ashima Chatterjee
Rupamanjari Ghose
Dr. Triveni Krishnan
Dr. Gopa Ghosh
Dr. Mahua Pal
Swantana Roy Chaudhuri
Prof. Kajal Ghose
Barnana Pal
Munna Sarkar
Engineers and Technocrats
Kakali Naskar   Asst. Engineer, WBSEB
Satarupa Ghose Roy   Software Engineer. TCL
Anindita Rakshit   Engineer, Usha Martin
Hena Mukherjee   Engineer, Phillips
Sanhita Basak   Engineer, Phillips
Soma Basu   Senior Engineer, CESC
Sutapa Bardhan   Software Engineer, Wipro System
Anindita Rudra   Engineer, TCS
Bhaswati Basu   Engineer, WEBEL
Runu Roy   Lecturer, College of Engineering & Management, Kolkata
Garima Kapoor   Software Engineer, HCL
Debolina Bera   Software Engineer, Tata Consultancy
Debolina Kumar   Software Engineer, Tata Consultancy


Eminent Singers / Dancers Drama / Media Personalities
Majushree Chaki Sarkar
Purabi Mukhopadhyay
Debarati Some
Tripti Mukherjee
Tanima Das
  Sobha Sen
Bratati Bandyopadhyay
Shaoni Roy Chowdhury
Kamalika Bhattacharya
Piyali Chatterjee



Copyright : Bethune College, Kolkata | Site powered by : Braindrops